Mixed Signals

March 1, 2017

I saw my nemesis twice today. The first time was by the fence which separates the yard from the east pasture. The chickens had sounded their ground-based threat alarm, which sounds suspiciously like their “I just laid an egg” call. I had all but started ignoring those similar sounds, but decided I needed to go investigate this one. I’m glad I did. The coyote looked at me for a while to see what I was going to do. Only when I started towards it did it run into the field.

The second time I took Layla and Mr. Pickles for a walk in the field. I saw the coyote (who needs a name at this point) on a well- worn game trail on the hill across the creek. She looked at me and then at the dogs. Discovering that she was invisible to the dogs, she returned her attention to me. I told her again to leave my chickens and dogs alone. She just looked at me. I took a couple of steps. She took a couple. We repeated this little dance a couple of times. Then she grew tired of mocking me and ran up the trail. The dogs never saw her.

I’m not sure she isn’t a hybrid. She sure is fluffy. I think I’d like to pet her, lure her over with some tasty treat, so I can rub my face in her fur. Then my imagination heads south. I become an obsessed psycho who sucks her in just to get revenge for lost chickens, ducks and dogs, only to be devastated by guilt and haunted by a beating heart in the floor boards. So, I shake my head and come back to moment and hear the roosters from a distance.

The roosters send her mixed signals. While they warned me when she came up to the fence, they seem to invite her to the yard from afar.  From where I stood at the creek it sounded like “Here we AAAAAAAARRRRE! We are HEEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRE! We are all ALLLLOOOOOOOOOOONNNNE! We taste really GOOOOOOOODDD!”

Maybe the chickens deserve their fate.

About bjbundy2014

"And for all I know he is sitting there still, under his favorite cork tree, smelling the flowers just quietly. He is very happy." -Munro Leaf in Ferdinand the Bull
This entry was posted in chickens, coyotes, Farming and Gardening, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

